top of page

Minutes before sunset novel Chap 37

I dragged a warm washcloth across her torn skin before tucking the covers beneath her. She didn’t keep her bedroom as clean as I did, which wasn’t surprising. I was only glad that I hadn’t tripped over anything when I transported inside. The last thing I needed was her parents catching a shade in their daughter’s bedroom. They didn’t even know what a shade was. She’d told me that much. I wiped the blood and dirt from her face, and then I stood up from her bed and walked into the bathroom. I rinsed the washcloth off and returned to her side, avoiding my reflection at all costs. I knew what I’d see, a mangled mess of bloody failure. It’d only be a matter of time before my father or Camille realized I hadn’t returned at the normal time. I’d get caught—again. But I couldn’t just leave. To deprive a deprived person

She needed my help; she was hurt. The first thing I checked was the spell embedded into her neck. It was burnt and spreading, and so was mine, but I wouldn’t use my remedy on me. It was hers as soon as she woke up. I ran my fingers along her wrist, and she shuddered, her eyes flicking open. They were no longer purple. Her gaze fluttered over me, but her brow furrowed. “Shoman?” Then she looked around, and her demeanor flipped. She shot up and covered her face with her hands. “I know who you are, no matter if you cover your face now or not,” I said, and she scooted against the wall. She couldn’t even sit up without support. Her face was so pale. “But—you can’t know.” Her lip quivered. “You’re not supposed to know.” “It’s done, Jessica,” I said, forcing a smile. “I won’t tell. Your secret is safe.” She shook her head and brought her knees up to her chin, hugging her legs as she had so many times before. How had I not realized who she was? Jessica did everything that the nameless shade had done. Because they were the same person. I still couldn’t believe it, even with her in front of me. She swallowed and tapped her nails against her kneecap. “You know my name,” she said, and I nodded. Could she figure out who I was? I didn’t know. “I can’t tell you mine.” “I know.” My jaw locked. It was the only way I could keep myself from speaking. I wanted her to know. “What happened?” she whispered, and I shook my head. I didn’t want to talk about it. We’d almost been killed, and it was my fault. If Fudicia hadn’t thought Abby was the third descendant, Jessica would be dead, and it’d be my fault. It was always my fault. It always had been. “Come here,” I said, patting the edge of the bed next to me, and she leaned forward. I reached into my collar and pulled off my necklace, allowing my tree pendant to swing between us. “I need you to drink this.” She blinked. “Drink it?” I twisted the top and pulled down the stump. The black liquid waved inside the branches. “It’s a remedy,” I said, handed it to her. “You were poisoned.” A gasp escaped her lips. “What do you mean?” “Just drink it.” She pressed it to her mouth and tipped it back. Her neck moved, and she cringed, squeezing her eyes shut. She coughed and handed the necklace back to me. “That’s disgusting.” “It’s medicine; what’d you expect?” I said, draping the jewelry over my neck. As long as the leather was visible, Camille wouldn’t know I’d used it. She shook her head again. “That’s the worst tasting medicine I’ve ever had.” “And it’s saving your life.” Jessica bit her lip. “It’s that bad?” I nodded, and she grabbed my hand. I knew I had to pull away, but I couldn’t. “What about you?” she asked, and I shrugged. I’d been attacked too, but she didn’t have to know. I could handle the pain. I’d been trained to. She shifted. “Thank you, Shoman.” I didn’t respond. I didn’t deserve the praise. I stood up, moving away from her, and her bed creaked as she attempted to move. “You won’t be able to use your powers for a long time,” I said, briefly turning back. “The poison attacks your powers, so that medicine prevents the transporting

Her mouth opened. “How will I see you?” “You won’t.” “But—” “Jessica,” I sighed and leaned against her window. This was everything I’d ever dreaded. “I’m leaving,” I said. “And I’m not coming back.” Removing myself was the only way she could be safe. “Don’t come looking for me either.” “What?” Her voice quavered, and she stepped off her bed. She trembled, and I caught her before she fell. Her body was too weak to stand. I sat her down and tried to move back, but she dug her nails in my arm, grasping me. “Why are you doing this?” she asked, and I was unable to look away. Her eyes were

watering, and I was breaking. “I can’t be with you anymore,” I said, and her grip tightened. “Shoman.” She wasn’t letting go. “You can’t do this. You don’t mean it.” Apparently, she was talented at telling if someone was lying to her. I forced myself to look away. “I do.” “Is it because I’m Jessica?” No. “Don’t change,” I said, and I forced my body to compress into shadows. She grasped the air as I dissipated. “Don’t leave me,” she said, and then I was gone. She was safe.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page